Cats and dogs – Kefalonia – Greece

This is a sad post – mostly. Too many cats and dogs in Greece lead a dreadful life and that’s why they are very shy, always about to escape, sick, hungry, feral and mistreated. Nobody wants to take care about this problem and nothing changes. You find these poor beings always close to garbage containers where they are looking for food. Cats and dogs in Greece have united in their misery, get along well and don’t fight. The first thing we do is to buy cat-food and give to those we see. Very few people love their animals dearly and treat them well. I hope this will change soon. On my evening strolls I find a lot of cats and speak to them. I love cats and they feel that they don’t have to be afraid of me.

30 thoughts on “Cats and dogs – Kefalonia – Greece

  1. You have hit my weak spot! I’m blubbering!!! 😦 I saw somewhere that in a country (I have forgotten which one – shame on me!) there are recycling booths wherein if someone places a bottle for recycling, pet food is dispensed for the stray animals. This seemed so wonderful to me, but I wonder if there are problems with rodents if there are no dogs/cats at the right spot to consume the food.

    I found that there are many instances when searching for this information. Here is one in Turkey. It provides water as well as dry kibble. What a wonderful thing!

    http://time.com/3024554/recycle-plastic-bottles-in-this-machine-and-it-will-dispense-food-to-stray-dogs/

    Virtual hugs,

    Judie

    Liked by 2 people

    • I’m sorry I made you blubber. The garbage containers are filled with dirty things people throw away, it’s not healthy to eat this for the cats. I wish they would do it in the way you wrote about. Thanks for commenting and your link, virtual hugs Mitza

      Liked by 1 person

    • Wow, I wish I would be your parrot, hehe. You are completely right to treat animals better. In Greece they believe that animals have no soul because they cannot speak. What would a dog/cat tell them? Regards Mitza

      Liked by 1 person

      • Mitza, tell the “no-soul” people in Greece about my parrots. One of them, Tweetie Pie, has a massive vocabulary. She says all kinds of insults to me (and laughs)… which is just fun teasing, initiated by my wife. Parrots learn best from female voices… so I can’t use Teetie to get back at her! Tweetie doesn’t just mimic; she has great comprehension; she even creates her own sentences. We didn’t teach her the following, but when we put coats or jackets on, she says: “Are you going to go bye-bye now?” Or she’ll say: “Can I go too?” We didn’t teach her these questions and we’ve had her since she was a baby fledgling. When she asks questions, she says it with the right inflection for a question! For their TV, I play a lot of Sesame Street learning videos and such. Just today, while I was in their room cleaning, Scarlet (one of the other birds, a macaw) said “R” when they were illustrating the letter “R” for “Rat”! This is one reason I’m a vegetarian.

        Liked by 1 person

      • I surely will tell them about your funny parrot, Thomas. I love them, too, because they are so funny and intelligent and I love the names you gave them. (I remember Frank Zappa called his “Bird Lancaster”, hehe) I watch a lot of youtube-videos about parrots, cats and dogs. Miss my cat so badly. I cannot understand how people can mistreat animals like this, it breaks my heart. On the other hand has a deaf-mute person no soul, too for them? Would be logical after their belief but shows the illogical attitude. I’m not really a vegetarian but appreciate it. Have a wonderful day and thanks for your comment, regards Mitza

        Liked by 1 person

      • Mitza… keep feeding those poor cats and dogs. I hope people in Greece wake up and begin seeing that animals are a lot like humans; many are even kinder and more caring! Dogs and cats are super intelligent… they just don’t have the vocal cords to be able to speak. People mistreat animals here too, unfortunately. We’ve donated a lot. Even horses are abandoned and starving not too far from here. A lot of people were not educated correctly!

        Liked by 1 person

      • I will continue to feed, even though it’s unfortunately only a drop in the ocean. I didn’t know that horses were abandoned in the States. I love horses, too. Poor world, it’s going down with badly educated people. Regards Mitza

        Like

  2. Oh no, yes it’s sad. I breaks my heart to see cats and dogs suffer. If I stayed there I too would buy some food to them even if I knew I would not be able to help all of them. I wish I could take them to the vet, give them a bath, a home they call their own. You are good hearted.

    Liked by 2 people

  3. Bless your kind and gentle heart for wanting to care for all these precious animals. It also causes me great heartache that each one of these dear creatures can not feel the love and care that my own cats have. I hate to think of them being hungry and feeling unwell.
    Your photos are beautiful, especially the black cat rolling and the little cat with its paws on the rope. x

    Liked by 1 person

    • Karen, I can only do so little. Wish I could feed all the cats and bring them to the vet. I love cats so much, had one for 18 years (a Norwegian Forest cat – beautiful and very intelligent) and miss her so much and that’s why I take care about some cats there. Thanks for liking the photos and have a wonderful day, regards Mitza

      Like

  4. You have a talent for capturing images that evoke such strong feelings for these little guys that I haven’t remembered since leaving Athens. Thanks for sharing and for giving your time to make their days a little happier. You are kind. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • The world is not always funny, not even in our holidays when I look at these poor creatures and try to help a little. I’m very happy though that you have felt the message of my photos. I want to show their loneliness, their forlornness, their sufferings and hunger to wake people up and make them change their attitudes towards all the wonderful creatures He has created, regards Mitza

      Like

  5. Your gesture is noble and is heartbreaking to see all those beautiful animals abandoned and left out on the streets! My soft spot is cats, love them more than any other animal, I catch myself always talking to them and they really talk back to me! Amazing characters and I can’t even imagine how hard and horrible life they have to live over there! It’s a huge problematic issue, hope that one day a solution will be reached and attitudes will be changed!
    Touching post, love all the cats you taken shots of, they are all beautiful.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Eva, thank you so much for your wonderful words. And again we have something in common, our love for cats. I have the ability to take up contact with them. Like you I talk to them and they understand what I mean. Some of them are so cute and even trusting so I could stroke them, even though they suffered from other people. I wish I could give them a home but cannot take hundred cats here, unfortunately. Warm regards Mitza

      Liked by 1 person

  6. That’s a really sad sight but very common in many other places in Greece… Unfortunately even the people who try to help them and build shelters etc have the government against them and have to pay stupid amount of fines making it unbearable to continue helping. Here in Vienna it really makes me wonder that you don’t see any stray animals at all…Don’t know if that means that there aren’t any, or that they just get rid of them so they don’t ruin the public image…

    Like

    • I didn’t know that it was like this in Greece. We don’t have any stray cats here, too. If somebody finds a cat it will come to an animal centre and be cared for. People love their animals and neuter them. Animals have a good life in Vienna and in Hamburg, too. Warm regards Mitza

      Like

Leave a Reply

