Weekly Photo Challenge: Motion

When I was in Greece last year I found a beautiful huge sail swallowtail in a park. Of course I wanted to photograph it. I sort of hunted through a lot of blooming shrubs in order to get a good shot but this butterfly was very nervous and tumbled from one flower to another and never stood still, was always in motion. The only chance I got was this one, when it flew away, probably with a cute grin on it’s face for having bugged a stupid tourist.

DSC08551

50 thoughts on “Weekly Photo Challenge: Motion

  1. I’ve always wondered how small creatures like bugs, or even birds, perceive the one-eyed creatures that sneak up on them. I’m pretty sure their smallish supply of brain cells does not include an irony gene, but I always wonder if they get a kick out of getting just out of reach of our cameras. A zoom lens and an articulated viewing screen outfoxes them from time to time, but mostly the photographer is the one left flummoxed!

    Virtual hugs,

    Judie

    Like

    • Just imagine how huge we are for them. Maybe we would fly away, too, if a giant would follow us with a camera, hehe. By the way, Chechov once wrote a wonderful and funny story about a cockroach that thought the guy it was living with was God. Virtual hugs Mitza

      Liked by 1 person

      • I’ve heard about that cockroach story, but have not read it. Many decades ago, a comedienne did a bit on what it would be like to be a cockroach. I can’t remember her name, so happily, I can’t pass it along! ;->

        Liked by 1 person

      • In wintertime sitting at a fireplace with a nice glass of red wine would be a good time for reading the short stories of Chechov. I have more than 400 books only from Russian authors and I can tell you: that’s really such a deep pleasure to read this. If I would be on a deserted island I only needed these books, some paper, pencils etc. and would be fine. 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

  2. Wirklich ein wunderschönes Tier. Schmetterlinge in freier Natur zu fotografieren ist gar nicht so einfach. Da muss man geduldig, schnell und ab und zu wirklich beweglich sein. 😉 Eines habe ich schon bemerkt, je größer der Schmetterling desto schneller fliegt er!
    Tolles Foto liebe Mitza!
    Liebe Grüsse Stefanie

    Liked by 1 person

    • Danke, liebe Stefanie. Du hattest ja auch vor kurzem ein tolles Schmetterlingsfoto veröffentlicht. Ich glaube gar nicht, daß die Größe und die Schnelligkeit gleich sind. Diese Segelfalter taumeln so rum. Schmetterlinge sind eigentlich nur da schnell, wo es sehr warm ist, wie z.B. in Griechenland. Habt Ihr die auch in Österreich? Hier gibt es die nicht. Bei uns ist es kühler geworden und hat endlich mal geregnet. Der Garten ist glücklich und ich kann jetzt im Matsch rumkriechen, haha. Liebe Grüße Mitza

      Like

      • Also ich muß sagen, es gibt schon einige Schmetterlingsarten bei uns, aber man sieht von Jahr zu Jahr weniger. Ich freue mich immer sehr darüber wenn mir einer über den Weg flattert 🙂 Bei uns ist es im Moment auch nicht wirklich schön…aber Regen gibt’s trotzdem nicht. Für das lange Wochenende sind die Voraussagen auch eher mieß!! Wir werden das Bester daraus machen.
        Liebe Grüsse Stefanie

        Liked by 1 person

  3. I like bugs, all sorts of them, but sometimes I feel they know I’m trying to take a picture of them so they move on purpose 😛

    This, as everything I’ve seen from you so far is a very nice photo, it was well worth the trouble! And as much as I’m happy when I see nice picture like this one (you can literally feel the butterfly speeding up), it also makes me sad to see how poorly equiped I am 😦

    Just today I tried to catch a giant black bug and every photo turned out blurry, and not in a good way like this one 🙂

    Anyway, sorry for long comment (and spam), just keep ’em coming, you just got a faithful follower 😉

    Liked by 1 person

    • As I said before, I did most of my photos with a rather basic camera, but I have a lot of experience and for a good photo I would nearly jump from a hill, hehe. Thanks for liking my photo and your long comment, regards Mitza

      Liked by 1 person

  4. Thank you, Mitza, for this image –what a treat for me, first thing in the morning. Somehow the butterfly flying away is a more emotive image than a static one. The lantana, too –it’s an environmental weed here so I’ve been guilty of ripping countless plants out of the ground, mostly amongst native bush.

    Liked by 1 person

    • I’m happy my photo was a treat for your morning. We should always think about bees and butterflies before taking away certain “weeds”, plants or flowers. And the lantana which grows in Greece a lot has quite nicely colored flowers. I think that the motion in the photo is quite good, too. Thanks a lot for your always nice support for my blog. Have a wonderful day, regards Mitza

      Liked by 1 person

      • What we do when bush regenerating is to plant native species in place of the lantana so the wildlife has a alternative source of food and habitat. The web of life is complicated in the wild; sometimes an exotic specie attract bees and butterflies at the wrong time of the season and deprive a lot of local species pollination and therefore necessary development. Ultimately it means the destruction of an ecological environment for a lot of native insects and birds that depends on the native bush and they become extinct. Yes, I think lantana flowers are pretty too and the berries (when black) are edible. I don’t think they are as much a problem in Europe.

        Liked by 1 person

      • We don’t have the lantana here in Northern Germany, it’s too cold. But you can have them inside. But in Greece they grow like weed. It’s even important to leave some stinging nettle in some places here because there are butterflies here that need it for living. I didn’t know that you could eat the lantana berries. How do they taste? I will try them in Greece.

        Liked by 1 person

      • We have a high rate of extinction here in Australia. We have lost a massive number of native flora and fauna since settlement two hundred years ago. It’s a losing battle that some of us still think is worth fighting. We still have pockets of healthy native bushland.

        Lantana berries are quite pleasant to taste, but I believe they need to be fully ripe or they’re not palatable; may even be toxic.

        Liked by 1 person

      • That’s really interesting to hear from a place that is so far away from us. I will be careful with the lantana berries. Do you have chinese dates in Australia?

        Like

      • Do you leave the jujube on the tree to dry? They’re lovely eaten that way, though you can eat them as soon as they ripen, of course. Not sure which tree is the ‘strawberry tree’.

        It’s lovely having a ‘conversation’ with you, Mitza but it’s almost three in the morning (I woke up to a burnt pot; I left the gas on) and I’d better go back to bed. 🙂 Good night.

        Liked by 1 person

      • No, I pick the jujube when they start to get dark brown and eat them fresh from my little tree. The strawberry tree is called arbutus in Latin. You can see it in Wikipedia. Thanks for the conversation, Mary. Take care not to leave the gas on and sleep well. Regards Mitza

        Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks a lot, dear Natalie. You must live in a warm surrounding then. We don’t have them here in Germany, they need heat and in Greece I love to watch them tumbling from flower to flower a bit like being lovedrunk from all the sweet manna they sipped from the flowers. Have a wonderful day. I hope you are still fine, virtual hugs, Mitza

      Like

    • Wonderful that you have swallowtails around where you live. They need a lot of heat like in Greece. I love these wonderful peaceful creatures. Nature is giving so many presents to us with it’s beauties. Thanks for your approval, have a wonderful day, regards Mitza

      Liked by 1 person

    • Yes, dear Karen. Nature is perfection and for me some sort of meditation. I feel the beauties of nature so deeply, it’s touching my heart to look at such a beautiful butterfly. They are like little angels, so harmless, silent and innocent. I’m happy your face lit up with this photo. Thanks for your kind words, kind regards Mitza

      Like

      • Yes… “some sort of meditation” is a beautiful way of describing the feeling. To lose ourselves in nature is to feel humble, calmed and in awe of something more important than ourselves. I feel ill if I am away from it for too long.

        Liked by 1 person

      • That’s nice that you feel the same about nature, dear Karen. I don’t know how often I go to our garden every day in order to calm down and meditate and for being astonished about every little new leaf or flower like a little child.

        Liked by 1 person

    • I must admit honestly that it was not done on purpose, hehe. I was running after the butterfly in order to get it sitting on a flower but it was always escaping. But I’m thankful that it escaped, so I got this photo without planning. Thanks anyway for liking my photo, have a wonderful day, regards Mitza

      Like

  5. In a garden…chasing a butterfly…in a beautiful garden…among beautiful flowers…chasing a beautiful butterfly…is it not about the chase and being simultaneously swathed in beauty? Great photo!

    Like

  6. Hello dear Mitza, I am trying to get back into the world of blogging again. How I have missed you and the view of your world which you share with us. I LOVE this photo! Are you ok? I would love to catch up. And I still want to order and own a piece of your jewellery. Life has just been a little challenging and I got swept off course for a while. Love Karen x

    Liked by 1 person

    • Hello dear Karen, thanks for liking my post. I love these huge butterflies a lot, too. We have been in Greece all September and it was very, very nice. I didn’t want to go back to cold Hamburg in wintertime. I’m quite okay. My husband will retire in some days, and that’s a new situation after having been separated for 10 years when he worked in Berlin. We want to move from our house due to our terrible neighbours and for this we have to move away from Hamburg, which makes me very sad, because I love this beautiful gorgeous town so much. I’m doing some nostalgic walks from time to time with my camera. I lost a bit interest in blogging because people are mostly very selfish these days. I work so much with looking at other blogs and liking them and nearly never get a like back. I reduced my blogging a lot.
      Hope you and your cats are okay. I’m looking forward to having a cat again. Regards Mitza

      Like

Leave a Reply

