Cats and dogs in Kefalonia, Greece III

Every evening I’m strolling around with my camera in Lixouri to look for old doors, old houses as well as cats and dogs. I love cats and like to establish contact with them. In Greece they are very shy, always about to escape, fright in their eyes because they have never learned to trust humans. They are mostly wild, have no owner to take care about them, feed them. I feel a lot of pity for these animals and always have some dry cat-food with me. Nowadays people start to have pets and to love them. But there are still some people who abandon little cats or dogs somewhere or even kill them. And unfortunately some dogs are still held at a chain. I would be very happy if this would become better soon.

38 thoughts on “Cats and dogs in Kefalonia, Greece III

    • These cute puppies had been abandoned on a road. We stopped and gave them some water and my friends found some new owners for them. Thanks for your comment, Tom, have a wonderful day, regards Mitza

      Like

  1. I must say the dogs and cats all look healthy and not like strays. In Istanbul there were also a lot of cats and some stray dogs but the people feed them; some even fish from Galata Bridge just for the food for cats!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Some of them are sick, have cat flu etc. but nobody feeds them. They usually sit at garbage containers and wait for “food”, these poor animals. The Greek could learn something from the Turkish. Hope you are fine, Mary, have a wonderful day, regards Mitza

      Liked by 1 person

    • Yes, that’s a very typical evening in one of these little villages, where people meet and speak together. It has something very romantic, old-fashioned and talkative. (Greeks are very talkative!!). Thanks a lot for your nice comment, Judy, have a wonderful day, regards Mitza

      Liked by 1 person

    • That’s nice to know, dear Natalie. I’m so in love with cats, they are so mystical, independent, clever, soft, purry etc. I miss my cat so much but don’t want to have another one due to my age. Virtual hugs Mitza

      Liked by 1 person

  2. A lovely tour of dog and cat world, perfectly exploring the joys and sadness of their lives with your text and images. I love the dog on the bench with the three old men – a lovely relaxed scene, kind wishes, John

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks a lot for your understanding and nice words, John. Yes, these 3 guys are very nice. That’s very typical in small villages to sit together and talk (Greeks are very, very talkative and always have to discuss something). These people have been very friendly to us without knowing us. They gave us a cutting from a very nice tree and some seeds from beautiful flowers. Really nice people there, Greeks are very hospitable. In a few days I will go there again. Have a wonderful day, kind wishes Mitza

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Oh Mitza, your kind heart and your love of the helpless, defenceless animals pours of of every photo and word in this post. It is one of the reasons I feel that you are my friend, because you care so much. It is very painful to see so many animals needing help and none of us can save them all. But look what you did! You found homes for the puppies. I can not even get close to thinking how many animals are in need there and the cruelty makes me feel ill. You are so kind and caring and these photos are beautiful, especially the last one. Take care of yourself too. Love, your friend Karen x

    Liked by 1 person

    • Yes, Karen, I can do only very little but with every drop of water you can fill a bowl after a while. I get sick, too, when I see how they treat the poor animals. They think that animals don’t have a soul, but the truth is that these people don’t have a heart. I’m fighting against windmills. Our friends have taken-up at least 25 cats in their garden. Squeeze your thumbs that I return home safely. Thank you so much, Karen, for your wonderful words about friendship. It gives me a warm feeling, even though it is quite hot here (30 degrees). I’m looking forward to swim in the Mediterranean and to meet some nice hospitable Greek compatriots. I hope you are fine (or better), your cat is okay. Give him a kiss from me, love your friend Mitza

      Like

      • Dear Mitza, I am so sorry for this late reply. I know that you are back from Greece now. I do hope that the trip went well and that you found space to heal your self and did not wear yourself out caring for others, all the animals and tending your land. I have been doing too much too. I have been trying to garden and paint windows before the weather closes in. I have neglected my blog and my blogging friends…I am so sorry. But I am looking forward to seeing pictures of your trip. Look after yourself and your caring heart my friend. Karen x

        Liked by 1 person

      • Dear Karen, I was really looking forward to your comment. Yes, we had a wonderful time in Greece, 25-20 degrees C, nearly every day swimming in the Mediterranean, very nice friends, people, landscape, food etc. Our friends had found a stray cat last year and fed her since then. Now she has two kittens and we fed them every day. In the beginning they were very timid but in the last days we could already touch and stroke them. They were so cute. I am just processing my 1200 photos. Will take some time. I can understand that you have to do some works before autumn comes, but maybe now you have time to sit down in a chair next to a fire, drink a hot tea and read a nice book. Thanks so much for your wonderful words, kind regards Mitza

        Like

      • It makes me feel happy when I know you have returned to your homeland. It must be such a delight to be back there in the sunshine, to be amongst your plants and produce and be so close to the cats which you love so much. It must have been very hard to leave 😦 Karen x

        Liked by 1 person

      • that’s true, Karin. But I lived most of my life in Germany and Hamburg is one of the most beautiful towns I know, a bit like London, which I love a lot, too. It was really nice to take care about some cute cats and to see that they trusted us and allowed us to touch them. Of course the weather is much better in Greece than here, and the people are very warmhearted and hospitable. But life is not all guns and roses. Hope you have finished your works at your house and that you can sit down at a fireplace (?) to enjoy your evening. :))) Mitza

        Like

      • So long as you are where you want to be and are happy- that is all I would like for you dear friend. It sounds like you have the best of both worlds. I used to live in London and miss it quite a bit too, although when I was there I longed to be in the country! πŸ™‚
        I am trying to deal with many years of neglect with my house. Most of that occurred in the past 14 years when I owned a restaurant and small hotel. I worked so many hours then that the house just got forgotten. To be honest, what I have taken on can seem overwhelming. But yes, in the evenings I light an open fire in my little sitting room and I sit down with Josef ( who often has a little kiss from Mitza). I can not tell you what a treat it is not to have to go to work in the restaurant every night and to have Christmas, Easter and all the holidays off. Although, I have to say, I miss it terribly 😦
        Still, I am so lucky to have what I have and I am a hard worker. I hope you are slowly editing your photos and are well.
        Karen x

        Liked by 1 person

      • that sounds great, Karen. I would have liked to see your hotel. But I can imagine how much work it was. So better you can enjoy your life with Josef. Give him a big hug from me, I’m busy, kind regards Mitza

        Liked by 1 person

    • Hi Mary, thanks a lot for asking. I have been in Greece for a month and didn’t want to post it all over the world. I had a wonderful time in a beautiful landscape, warm Mediterranean sea, hospitable people etc. I didn’t want to return home. I got so used to this island and these nice people. Now it’s so cold here, and I’m freezing. Hope you are fine, too. Will start posting again soon. Have a wonderful day, regards Mitza

      Liked by 1 person

  4. I love them feline and canine friends. So i can understand fully that you try to make contact whenever there is an opportunity. As i have two felines in house myself, i know how wonderful it can be to connect with them. If they trust you, it’s a unique bound. Nothing like a dog i guess, but still.. the meows they give always bring joy πŸ™‚

    Very nice set of photos btw! Especially like the lady with the kitten, the man with his arm around the dog and the meowing cat!

    Liked by 1 person

    • That’s really nice to know that you love cats, too. I had several cats in my life, the last one for 18 years. But she was so clever and beautiful that nobody could replace her. I just came home from a month in Greece where I have fed a stray cat with two kittens the whole time. In the beginning they were very timid and in the last days we could even stroke them. I made a lot of new photos in Greece from cats and dogs. They all have their own personality, that’s stunning. Thanks for commenting, Pieter, have a wonderful day, regards Mitza

      Like

Leave a Reply

