Flowers in macro

See the flowers, so faithful to Earth.
We know their fate because we share it.
Were they to grieve for their wilting,
that grief would be ours to feel.

There’s a lightness in things. Only we move forever burdened,
pressing ourselves into everything, obsessed by weight.
How strange and devouring our ways must seem
to those for whom life is enough.

If you could enter their dreaming and dream with them deeply,
you would come back different to a different day,
moving so easily from that common depth.

Or maybe just stay there: they would bloom and welcome you,
all those brothers and sisters tossing in the meadows,
and you would be one of them.

Rainer Maria Rilke, Sonnets to Orpheus II, 14

65 thoughts on “Flowers in macro

  1. I do love the sharp and soft focuses on the various stages of floral life. I wish I could read the original version of the poem; so much is lost in translation, I know. Alas I don’t have the language.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thomas, I really don’t understand how anyone cannot love Rilke. You are so intelligent and must get this special feeling he transfers. Of course, it is very, very hard to translate his poems because he uses a lot of neologisms. But I’m happy you liked at least my photos. You know Thomas, it is always a bit of an effort to deal with things that are a bit different to the things you do yourself. Tweetie is very funny, you should post some “tweets” from her. Regards Mitza

      Like

      • We all have different tastes; i just do not think Rilke goes deep enough. Archibald Macleish (in a poem that i included in my book) alludes to the same thing:

        excerpt from The Infinite Reason:

        Rilke thought it was the human part
        To translate planet into angel —
        Bacteria of mortal heart

        Fermenting into something rich and strange,
        The orchard at home, the sky above Toledo:
        Sight into soul was what we lived to change.

        The key, he told us, was the angel’s need,
        Not our necessity — and yet
        No angel answered for “his” heart to feed.

        The truth is nearer to the true than that.
        The truth is, the necessity is ours.
        Man is a creature to whom meaning matters.

        Macleish and many other poets acted (in my book) as my angels, I feel; i fed on their works well! I will write about Tweetie again in a posting sometime. Good advice! ๐Ÿ™‚

        Liked by 1 person

      • thanks a lot for sending me this excerpt, which was very interesting. Of course it is something different to read his poems in German than to read them translated. I still like him a lot. I’m looking forward to your “tweets”. Regards Mitza

        Like

    • Thank you so much, dear Fabio. Maybe you can see that I studied art many years ago. I take a lot of care for compositions, colors and aesthetics. Hope you are fine and have a nice Sunday, regards Mitza

      Like

    • I’m very happy that you like my post and the wonderful poem from Rilke. I hope your hectic family life will change into a peaceful day, Peter. Have a nice day, regards from sunny Hamburg, Mitza

      Like

    • This post shows the two things I love most of all: flowers and Rilke’s poems and maybe I could transfer this love to the world. Thanks a lot for commenting and liking, have a nice day, regards Mitza

      Liked by 1 person

    • Yes, Rilke has made the most beautiful poems I know. He invented a lot of neologisms and enrichended the German language a lot. I usually read them in German and translations are very difficult and change the poem a little. Thanks for your nice comment, have a nice day, regards Mitza

      Liked by 1 person

    • You really make me very happy with your wonderful comment, thanks a lot, Mary. I’m content when others like Rilke’s poems, too, and love to share my photos with nice people all over the world, Have a nice day, regards Mitza

      Like

Leave a Reply

