To draw or not to draw

Some weeks ago I went to a garage sale. I didn’t really find anything I urgently needed or wanted until in the last corner of the garage I saw an old frame from art nouveau time (around 1900). I was a bit “shocked” because there was a photo of Frank Zappa in it. It was a little collision of two things that didn’t really fit together. But I must admit that I was a big fan of Frank Zappa when I was younger and so I had a friendly and competent conversation with another Frank Zappa fan. He actually didn’t intend to sell the frame but somehow he felt a little sympathy for me and sold it to me for 5 Euros. I was very happy because it is quite cheap for such a wonderful old frame and I collect frames (I have 200 old frames in my flat). I repaired it a bit by myself.  The frame only had one disadvantage: it had a very extraordinary size. I have a few old copper engravings but none of them fit into that frame. So I had to draw something myself. I was thinking a few sleepless nights about the object. Finally I took a feather from a wild turkey that I found some time ago, because it is oblong, too. Then I took out some brown paper in order to have a little shabby old look,  my colored pencils as well as some white and black acrylic colors. You can see the steps of my work up to the passe-partout and the montage into the frame. I think this was a good solution. What do you think?

58 thoughts on “To draw or not to draw

  1. I don’t want to use the word ‘amazing’ as it is too often used but I am amazed at your many talents. The feather and the frame is a perfect fit. This morning I found a magpie feather in my garden and wondered what I can do with it. I’m not sure but I know I won’t be drawing it. 🙂

    Like

    • Thank you so much for your approval, Thomas. I’m a fanatic collector of many old things, not only frames. My flat is like a museum and I like to re-use old things. Have a nice day, regards Mitza

      Like

Leave a Reply

